Griselda de Guadalajara

What did beauty mean to you when you were 20-29?

Well, beauty is not as interesting as they make it to be. Character also counts….to be able to speak with other people easily. I have always liked dressing up and now too, although I am an old woman. My hair was always very straight and I would do perms and dress up in the style of the time, dresses down to my knees and beautiful blouses.

My family was poor and so I did not enjoy any luxuries but more or less we could eat well. We had a good time. We went to the movies and to dances behind dad’s back. We had a great time, with my little sisters. At that time we lived in Guadalajara. Until I was 17 I lived in Mexico and then I came to live here. Because here lived my grandma and my brother. Then I found work in a sewing factory and could enjoy life because I worked and had money and could help my dad because he had a big family. Then I packed cookies (as a job) and took care of my children at home, because I was married

How important is beauty to you now? If different, why have your ideas of beauty  changed over the years?

Fashion was very different here, people wore hats and fur coats.

But it has now changed so much. Now everyone wears pants, including me, after exercising. With diabetes I cannot go to dances anymore because there are too many temptations, cakes which I cannot eat. Before I could not go because they would not let me and now because of diabetes.

My children take me out to the movies. They take me to the beach in Sausalito.

¿Qué significó para Ud. la belleza cuando tenía 20-29 años?

Bueno la belleza no es tan interesante también hay que ver el carácter, poder hablar uno con otras persona con facilidad. Me ha gustado arreglarme y ahora también por mas que este mayor. Mi pelo siempre estaba muy lacio y me hacia permanentes y vestidos lo que se usaba en ese tiempo, vestidos regulares hasta la rodilla y blusas bonitas. Mi familia era pobre asíque yo no tenia lujos pero mas o menos teníamos para comer bien. La pasábamos bien, íbamos al cine y a los bailes a escondidas de mi papá. La pasábamos bien con mis hermanitas. En ese tiempo vivíamos en Guadalajara.

Hasta los 17 años viví en México y después me vine a vivir aquí. Porque aquí vivía mi abuelita y mi hermano. Después encontré trabajo en una fabrica de costura y pues aquí goce porque yo ya trabajaba y tenia dinero y ayudaba a mi padre porque tenia una familia muy grande. Después empaquetando galletas y después cuidando niños en mi casa, porque me casé.

¿Qué significa para Ud. la belleza ahora? Si es diferente, ¿por qué han cambiado con los años sus ideas sobre la belleza?

La moda era muy distinta aquí, la gente iba de sombreros y pieles. Hasta en los colectivos.

Pero la ha cambiado tanto ahora anda todo el mundo en pantalones, incluso yo que vengo de hacer mis ejercicios. Con la diabetes no puedo ir mas a los bailes porque hay tentaciones hay muchos pasteles y yo no los puedo comer. Antes no podía ir porque no me dejaban y ahora por la diabetes.

Mis hijos me llevan a pasear, al cine. Me llevan a la playa a Sausalito

Griselda,82

San Francisco

Leave a Reply

