Taille fine

What did beauty mean to you when you were in your 20s?

Having lived in different countries, I have noticed how the sense of beauty varies in the different cultures. Some cultures emphasize different parts of the body (France: the size / weight (“taille fine”… thin waist); China: the nose and eyes, USA: teeth and hair, Holland and Nordic countries: the healthy/sporty look etc…)

Growing up in Europe, meant that the outward appearance wasn’t as important as it would be in the US for instance. So, the inner beauty has always been more important to me. I have never worn make-up, but I did watch my waist! (in my 20’s)

What does beauty mean to you now?

Now, in my 50’s, beauty is still what is in the inside of a person. (although I don’t think there isn’t one person in her 50’s who wouldn’t secretly wish to look 10 years younger!!!)

If different, why have your ideas about beauty  changed over the years?

no difference

Mireille, 53

Leave a Reply

