Mom

What did beauty mean to you when you were in your 20s?

Beauty to me in my 20s had a lot to do with my physical appearance. I wanted to look attractive so people would notice me, especially men. I teased my hair into a fashionable bouffant style, wore eye-makeup, blush, lipstick & 3″ high heels. I looked to fashion magazines for my ideal of beauty. I also strove for some inner qualities of beauty–patience,not arguing, criticizing or gossiping (sometimes). I finished off my beauty with a smile which “revealed” my inner cheerfulness.


What does beauty mean to you now?

My ideal of beauty has changed over the years. I found a definition in the Bible which became my new ideal:
“Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, instead it should be that
of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit which is of great worth in God’s sight. For this is the way the holy women of the past who put their hope in God used to make themselves beautiful. They were submissive to their own husbands like Sarah.. . . you are her daughters if you do what is right and do not give way to fear”  I Peter 3:3-6
I also found a man who loved & appreciated me for who I was. He found me attractive without bouffant hair,eye-makeup, lipstick or 3″ heels.
Another fact which contributed to my change was placing my trust in God. He has given me hope because He is guiding me as a shepherd. He supplies all my needs (I shall not want), and He protects me(even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death). He has forgiven my sins (through the death of his son Jesus which paid sin’s penalty).Therefore I am free from guilt, regret, & fear. I think these are aging & disfiguring qualities. I strive to do what is right by obeying Him. My mirror is found in God’s words in the Bible. I have peace & joy in my heart.

If different, why have your ideas about beauty changed over the years?

The difference between my 2 ideals of beauty is because of my love relationship with Jesus Christ, my shepherd. He gave His life for me & loves me. I desire to reveal His beauty.

Linda, mid 60s

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rebecca
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 04:27:28

    This is my favorite so far. Maybe because I relate to it. I love the Bible passage…I’m going to try and commit that one to memory!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

