Fashionista in high heel sandals

What did beauty mean to you when you were in your 20s?

It meant a lot. I was very vain. I used to always wear make-up. I always went out with eye shadow, eye liner, mascara, and of course, always had lip-stick and rouge on. I kept up with the styles. I loved to wear heels…high heel sandals, that’s my favorite, and slip-on heels. I was very much into fashion. I was somewhat of a fashionista.

Then I had a baby in my 30s and things kind of fell by the wayside. I didn’t bother about my appearance and just let myself go. Now I’m trying to get back to being attractive again. I’m trying to lose weight, first of all. I’ve ordered a dancercise kit so I can work out at home and hope to date again.

What does beauty mean to you now?

I want to age beautifully. There aren’t too many role models for women my age, especially around here. I don’t know if you ever watch TV, but there’s a commercial with Jacqueline Bisset for Avon Anew Platinum. That’s a perfect role model for me because she’s about my age group and she looks great. Other women that I think look really great and try to emulate are Jacqueline Smith, Susan Sarandon, Diane Keaton, and Sally Field who are all my age.

If different, why have your ideas about beauty changed over the years?

Well, like I said, I had a baby and I got busy, and I just didn’t bother. Maybe it’s lack of self-esteem but I just didn’t care. I didn’t care about anything, for example, my appearance. I wasn’t very sociable. My social life is starting to pick up now.

Early Boomer

San Francisco, October 2010

Leave a Reply

